District Profile

Formerly part of Mpigi District, it came into existence in 2000, when the 3 counties of Mpigi District-Busiro, Kyadondo and Entebbe Municipality became Wakiso District. The people are Baganda and the main language is Luganda.

Wakiso District is a district in the Central Region of Uganda that partly encircles Kampala, Uganda’s capital city. The town of Wakiso is the site of the district headquarters. Kira, the country’s second-largest city and a suburb of Kampala, is in the district.

Wakiso District lies in the Central Region of the country, bordering with Nakaseke District and Luweero District to the north, Mukono District to the east, Kalangala District in Lake Victoria to the south, Mpigi District to the southwest and Mityana District to the northwest.[2] Wakiso, where the district headquarters are located, lies approximately 20 kilometers (12 mi), by road, northwest of Kampala, the capital of Uganda and the largest city in the country. The coordinates of the district are:00 24N, 32 29E.

Location and Size
Wakiso District is located in Uganda’s central region and shares borders with Kampala, Mpigi, Luwero, Nakaseke, Mityana, Mukono and Kalangala districts.

Wakiso, which was curved out of Mpigi district with an aim of improving service delivery, is the second most populated District in Uganda with a population of 2,007,700 as per the 2014 census and covers a total area of 2,807.75 square kilometers. The District is part of the famous Luwero Triangle, which was ravaged during the five-year war in the early to mid-1980s but currently boasts of a highly urbanized society with half of its population living in urban areas.

It came into existence through an Act of Parliament enacted in November 2000 and, besides hosting the gateway to Uganda at the Entebbe International Airport, Wakiso District also provides a vital lifeline to Uganda’s Capital City of Kampala as it surrounds the city.

Demographic Characteristics
The district currently has a total population of 2,007,700 with a growth rate of 4.1%. The population density is 700 persons per square kilometer. The ratio of male to female is 90 males per 100 females.

Administrative Structure
Wakiso District is made up of two counties of Busiro and Kyadondo. It has seven constituencies, three in each of the counties and one in Entebbe Municipality. It also has 15 Sub Counties, one Municipality and six Town Councils. The headquarters of the district are located in Wakiso Town Council, about 16kms from the capital Kampala, off the Hoima highway.

The District has 146 Parishes, 704 Villages and two Town Boards of Matugga and Kyengera. The counties, parishes and villages are administrative units while the Sub Counties/Town Councils and Municipal Divisions are Lower Local Governments. The Municipality and Town Councils are self-accounting and corporate bodies.

idn poker

rtp live slot

bonus new member

judi bola

mahjong slot

situs judi bola

situs judi bola

situs judi bola

slot qris 5k

slot server kamboja


bonus new member 100

Slot Bet 200

Akun Demo Slot

pragmatic play

casino online